Disability Confidence Awards 2024 Finalists and Winners

The Disability Confidence Awards are Australia’s premier awards event for disability access and inclusion—the pinnacle of recognition for those who champion accessibility.

We are delighted to now announce our 2024 finalists and award winners below:

Disability Confident Recruiters


  • Achieve Australia ​
  • City of Sydney Council ​
  • DFP Recruitment​
  • genU ​
  • Hoban Recruitment​
  • Legal Aid NSW ​
  • Life Without Barriers​
  • Max Solutions​
  • National Disability Insurance Agency​
  • NSW Department of Communities and Justice ​
  • NSW Department of Customer Service​
  • NSW Department of Planning and Environment ​
  • NSW Public Service Commission ​
  • NSW Treasury ​
  • Peter Berry​
  • Telstra Corporation Limited ​
  • Victoria Police – Victorian Public Service​
  • WA Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions ​
  • Water Corporation WA ​
  • Zoos Victoria


  • Accenture Australia ​
  • ANZ Banking Group​
  • Australian Taxation Office​
  • Attorney-General’s Department​
  • Australian Film Television Radio School ​
  • Blue Sky Community Services​
  • Department of Regional NSW ​
  • Lake Macquarie City Council​
  • Main Roads WA ​
  • Medibank Group​
  • VIC Department of Jobs, Skills, Industry and Regions ​
  • Yarra Trams

Disability Inclusion Changemaker of the Year


  • Andrea Comastri, Hotel Etico
  • Zoë Field, EY
  • Briar Harte, NBN Co
  • Rebecca Lee, Department of Industry, Science and Resources
  • Belinda Leon, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank
  • Alana Madden, Darwin Waterfront Corporation
  • Tricia Malowney OAM, VIC Department of Transport and Planning
  • Jodie Nicks, VIC Dept of Families, Fairness and Housing
  • David Simmonds, VIC Department of Transport and Planning
  • Megan Spindler-Smith, Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)

Award recipient

  • Briar Harte, NBN Co

Inclusive Initiative of the Year


  • Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
  • Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Coles Group
  • Humanitix
  • QLD Department of Transport and Main Roads with Better Hearing Australia Brisbane
  • Settlement Services International (SSI)
  • Special Broadcasting Service (SBS)
  • Westpac
  • Woolworths Group
  • University of Sydney

Award recipient

  • Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Disability Employee Network of the Year


  • Australia Post
  • Australian Financial Complaints Authority
  • EY
  • Ford Motor Company
  • Jacobs Group (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • NBN Co
  • Optus
  • Special Broadcasting Service (SBS)
  • WaterAble
  • Westpac
  • Yarra Trams


  • Jacobs Group (Australia) Pty Ltd

Supervisor of the Year


  • Laura Gysslink, Deakin University
  • Bree Hearn, National Disability Insurance Agency
  • Cherie Johnstone, Services NSW
  • Jessica Lee, Zoos Victoria
  • Jayne Moller, National Disability Insurance Agency
  • Joanne Rae, VIC Department of Education

Award recipient

  • Joanne Rae, VIC Department of Education

Intern of the Year

  • Marina Booth, VIC Department of Education
  • Toby Brown, Macquarie Group
  • Aaron Cheang, Australia Post
  • Oliver Driver, The Perth Mint
  • Alex Haigh, NSW Premier’s Department
  • Layal Hanna, Special Broadcasting Service (SBS)
  • Taylor Kuper, NSW Department of Communities and Justice
  • Zara Nazikian, Fair Work Ombudsman
  • Amy Nguyen, NSW Department of Environment
  • Claire Smith, National Disability Insurance Agency
  • Tessani Wells, University of Sydney

Award recipient

  • Claire Smith, National Disability Insurance Agency

Mentor of the Year


  • Ruth Bonser, Westpac
  •  Brian Bui, Coles Group
  • Shazia Haider, RMIT University
  • Adam Hammond, ANZ
  • Scott Howard, NBN Co
  • Susan Smith, ANZ
  • Shaun Thorneycroft, Optus
  • Dean Uhlmann, Roche Products

Award recipient

  • Ruth Bonser, Westpac

Mentee of the Year


  • Thomas Boyce, Westpac
  • Daniel Buchhorn, Australian Disability Network
  • David Cobb, Major Transport Infrastructure Authority
  • Ari Crosby, NBN Co
  • Natasha De Almeida, Coles Group
  • Larry Ho, Coles Group
  • Elly Liu, QBE Insurance Group
  • Peter Mann, Westpac
  • Dylan McBurney, Parliament of Victoria
  • Esther Pritchard, Optus

Award recipient

  • Esther Pritchard, Optus

Access and Inclusion Index

Best in class for commitment


Best in class for Premises


Best in class for Procurement

Coles Group

Best in class for Workplace Adjustments

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Best in class for Candidate Experience

Coles Group

Best in class for Employee Experience

Medibank Private

Best in class for Customer Experience

Edith Cowan University

Best in class for Communications and Marketing


Best in class for Digital Accessibility


Best in class for Most Improved


Your shopping cart

No products in the cart.

Go to Shop